The Dreaded Finals Week!

Finals week.  

The reason I have been  missing in action.  The reason my room is a mess.  The reason I haven’t called my mother and the reason my boyfriend sees me only once a day.

Finals week is by far the worst week out of my life.  I am a horrible finals week tester.  For some reason, even though my focus is unyielding throughout the entire semester and I can put my nose to the grind stone, finals week brings out the worst in me.  At the time that I need to be studying hard, understanding concepts, and making a huge dent in my pile of homework, I find myself struggling to even sit at my desk and absorb anything.  It’s like my learning button has turned off in my head.  

Lets face it:  I’m burnt out.  

I’ve discovered that most students take finals week as a get out of jail for free card on all of their behavior.  They try to make up for lost time by sitting in the library for hours, making it impossible for all the usual library dwellers to get a seat, they consume an unusually high level of Starbucks, and they invert their sleeping habits from studying during the day and sleeping at night to sleeping during the day and studying at night, a phenomenon I just can’t understand.  Still, even though it is finals week, I go to sleep at night and just put in the extra hours of studying during the day, when I would usually be hanging out with Lance or doing some other homework or club related activity.  My sleep doesn’t suffer.

However, my focus does.  I only have six more days until this whole semester is done and over with, and its like I can’t even convince myself to push out the last few days.  My body has said enough is enough and my brain is shutting down.  Not good.  I totally don’t understand two of the major concepts in Organic Chemistry at all, and I still need to read two chapters for Cellular and Molecular Biology.   And that’s not even getting into my biostats class or my online geography final.  

 I’m hoping tomorrow I can really bust my butt on some of this stuff.  It’s so important that I do well, but it’s like I’m just shutting down.  So frustrating.  My will wants to go but my mind keeps saying no lol.  It’s on vacation already.

I think my body is also depressed because I turn 21 on the 12th and what do I get for my birthday?  A final!  And a final the day after!  Oh goodie!

So, that is why I haven’t written in a while.   I will be back after December 13th.

Gahhhhhhhh.

We love comments!

